+6088-762-688 majaps@live.com


Brief History of MAJAPS

Majlis Jaksa-Jaksa Pendamai Sabah (MAJAPS) was initiated in 1989 by Datuk Nicholas Fung, the former Sabah State Attorney General and the then Chairman of Sabah Bank Berhad who was the Protem President with the late Ben Chung as the Honorary Secretary. The other founder members include Datuk Dr. Lawrence Thein Shin Hing, Datuk Tuwanku Balanggung, Cyril Yansalang, Datuk Askar Hasbollah, Datuk James Vitales, Jimmy Duis and Louis Fung.

MAJAPS was officially registered on 20th May 1991 under the Societies Act 1966 vide registration number 37/91 (SABAH).

The first Annual General Meeting (AGM) of MAJAPS was held at the 11th Floor, Menara SBB, Wisma Tun Fuad Stephens, Karamunsing, Kota Kinabalu on 9th September 1991. Those elected as office bearers were as follow:-

Datuk Nicholas Fung
The Founder of MAJAPS

During the 5th AGM held in March 1995, Datuk Seri Panglima Clarence B. Malakun was elected to replace Datuk Nicholas Fung who had then immigrated to Canada. The same year, MAJAPS then applied and was accepted as an Affiliated Member State of the National Council of the Justices of the Peace, Malaysia (NCJPM). MAJAPS representative at the NCJPM were Datuk Seri Panglima Clarence B. Malakun, Datuk Dr. Lawrence Thien and Datuk Tuwanku Balanggung.

The 6th AGM of MAJAPS was held at the Dewan Undangan Negeri Mini Conference Room by courtesy of the Deputy President of MAJAPS at the time cum the Deputy Speaker Dewan Undangan Negeri, Y.B. Datuk James A. Vitales.

During the 7th AGM held on 23rd March 1997, Rule 9(i)(a) of the MAJAPS Constitution was amended whereby the number of Central Committee Members was increased from 3 to 5 in number.

The 8th AGM of MAJAPS was held on 21st March 1998 at the Berjaya Palace Hotel, Karamuncing, Kota Kinabalu. During the AGM, the term of Office of the Office Bearers was amended from one (1) year to a two (2) year period, in line with the Constitution of the NCJPM.

The same year, the Head of State, Tun Hj. Sakaran bin Dandai consented to MAJAPS invitation for the TYT to become the Patron of the Council. In August 1998, the State Secretary also approved the request by MAJAPS to have its own emblem and car badge for official use by its members.

The 11th AGM of the MAJAPS on 24th March 2001 was held for the first time at its own office, namely at 3rd Floor, Lot 6, Block M, Donggongon New Township, Penampang, which was fully renovated and provided rent free for the Council by Datuk Seri Panglima Clarence B. Malakun.

The first Branch Office of MAJAPS was opened up in Tawau on the East Coast of Sabah on 4th January 2003. The office is located at Bintang Garden Commercial Centre, courtesy of Central Committee Member, Datuk Geoffrey Yee. And on 9th April 2005, the second Branch Office of MAJAPS was also opened up in Sandakan, located at Wisma Andamy, Bandar Ramai-Ramai, Sandakan courtesy of Central Committe Member (now Vice President), Tan Sri Andrew S. F. Liew.

A Third Branch office of MAJAPS had been planned to be opened up in the interior part of Sabah (either in Keningau or Tenom) and possibly a fourth one to be located in Kudat, in the Northern Part of Sabah. This will then complete the coverage of MAJAPS office to be all over Sabah.

Datuk Seri Panglima Clarence B. Malakun continued to lead MAJAPS all those years but during a Central Committe Meeting in 2010, he applied for a "sababtical leave" and requested the Deputy President, Datuk Dr. Lawrence Thien, to become the "Acting President" as Datuk Seri Malakun wanted to concentrate on his duties as the President of the National Council JP Malaysia (NCJPM). The current Honorary Secretary of MAJAPS is Datuk Gordon Leong, with Datuk Vincent Shia as the Honorary Treasurer.

Datuk Seri Panglima Clarence B. Malakun was elected to the National Council JP Malaysia (NCJPM) as Vice President in 2004 and as the President on 24th May, 2008.

Back <==